Category Archives: AutoCAD

  • 0

Shared Views – A New Feature in AutoCAD 2019

There are several new features for AutoCAD 2019. This is an introduction on one of those new features, Shared Views. The Shared View gives people on a project access to project drawings with out having to go through the process of eTransmitting the .dwg’s or sending .pdf’s with the latest version. With the move to subscriptions and user controlled access, AutoCAD has included this new feature based on your Autodesk user account. It is also available with AutoCAD LT subscriptions and AutoCAD vertical products. There is a 10 minute video without audio that gives a tour for using Shared Views.

Let’s get started:
1. Open up a drawing in AutoCAD, go up to the ribbon and click on the “Collaborate” tab in the ribbon. The Collaborate Contextual Tab opens.
2. Move your tool tip/curser over to the “Shared Views: button to to open the Shared Views palette. The palette opens up on the left side of your drawing area.
3. With the Shared Views palette open, you can either open an existing Shared View or create a new Shared View. In the video, the New Shared View button is selected. The Share View dialogue box opens. At this point you can name your Shared View and choose the options. When finished, click on the Share button.
4. The Share View processing notification opens. It is notifying that it will process in the background. Click on Proceed. There is an icon in the Status Bar to show that it is processing. This can take several minutes based on the size of the file. You will get a notification balloon with a link to the location of your Shared View. You can click on it or click on the link in your email to access it.
5. Once the link has been clicked on, The Autodesk Viewer opens up in you internet browser and begins loading the model. This can take several minutes due to file size and internet.
6. In the Autodesk Viewer, a user has a lot of tools available. For Instance: turning layers and Xref’s on or off, orbiting, panning, zooming, measuring, section views, explode views and marking up the model for additional updates and modifications.
7. Additional tools a user can apply are comments, print, screenshot or share links to additional collaborators and/or stakeholders for the project.
8. When finished, save the markups and comments and go ahead and exit the browser.
9. The Shared Views Palette can be accessed anytime in AutoCAD. A user can can come back to the shared view drawing by selecting the view in the palette. They can be sorted by date, title and expiration date. The expiration date can be extended. The Shared View can also be deleted.


  • 0

Change an Autodesk Product from Network to Stand-Alone or Stand-Alone to Network

Tags : 

To change a product which has already been installed from network to stand-alone, or stand-alone to network – you’ll modify the LGS.data file with Notepad. Ensure the product you wish to modify is closed.

To find the appropriate LGS.data file for your application, you’ll start with C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\CLM\LGS\

From there, you’ll be looking for the product version first, and then the key.

The folder names are structured so that the product key comes first, and underscore, and then the version. It will look like this:

569K1_2019.0.0.F

That happens to be Autodesk Vault Professional 2019. In that folder, there is an LGS.data file. Select it, right-click on it, and pick Open With…

Select Notepad from the list of options.

Change the file. If it’s a network currently, you’ll see _NETWORK. You want that to be stand-alone? Change it to _STANDALONE

If it already says _STANDALONE and you want it to be a network license, you’ll change it _NETWORK

Save the file.

Launch the product. It should now take you through the process (network or stand-alone) for obtaining a license for your product.





  • 0

Switch to Subscription: Changing License Types

With a Maintenance plan, you had two license types:

  • Stand-Alone
  • Network

With a Subscription plan, you have two license types:

  • Single-User
  • Multi-User

A Single-User license is the equivalent to a Stand-Alone license.

A Multi-User license is the equivalent to a Network License.

Single-User:

Before, you would use a serial number and product key to activate a product on a workstation. With Single-User licenses, you may still need a serial number and product key, but you’ll also need access to that serial number and product key – granted by the Autodesk Account. When a company purchases subscription software, a Contract Manager is assigned. The Contract Manager will set up the Autodesk Account, and add users via email address. Once the users have been added to the account, they’ll get emails asking them to log-in, activating their Autodesk Accounts. The Contract Manager can then allow those users access to the Subscription software seats.

Multi-User:

Not a lot changes here. You’re still using LMTools and a license file to license the software. While you don’t have to sign-in to Autodesk Account to access Multi-User software, the benefits, like cloud rendering and various analysis tools will require permission. So even though it isn’t needed to launch Revit, it’s a good idea to add users and configure the Autodesk Account so that those users can take advantage of the Subscription benefits.

There are two things happening in this scenario, you’re switching license models (Maintenance to Subscription) and switching license types as well.

So, if you’re switching to Subscription and moving to Multi-User licenses, this post is for you:

If you’re switching to Subscription and moving to Single-User licenses, this post is for you:

 


  • 0