Shared Views – A New Feature in AutoCAD 2019

  • 0

Shared Views – A New Feature in AutoCAD 2019

There are several new features for AutoCAD 2019. This is an introduction on one of those new features, Shared Views. The Shared View gives people on a project access to project drawings with out having to go through the process of eTransmitting the .dwg’s or sending .pdf’s with the latest version. With the move to subscriptions and user controlled access, AutoCAD has included this new feature based on your Autodesk user account. It is also available with AutoCAD LT subscriptions and AutoCAD vertical products. There is a 10 minute video without audio that gives a tour for using Shared Views.

Let’s get started:
1. Open up a drawing in AutoCAD, go up to the ribbon and click on the “Collaborate” tab in the ribbon. The Collaborate Contextual Tab opens.
2. Move your tool tip/curser over to the “Shared Views: button to to open the Shared Views palette. The palette opens up on the left side of your drawing area.
3. With the Shared Views palette open, you can either open an existing Shared View or create a new Shared View. In the video, the New Shared View button is selected. The Share View dialogue box opens. At this point you can name your Shared View and choose the options. When finished, click on the Share button.
4. The Share View processing notification opens. It is notifying that it will process in the background. Click on Proceed. There is an icon in the Status Bar to show that it is processing. This can take several minutes based on the size of the file. You will get a notification balloon with a link to the location of your Shared View. You can click on it or click on the link in your email to access it.
5. Once the link has been clicked on, The Autodesk Viewer opens up in you internet browser and begins loading the model. This can take several minutes due to file size and internet.
6. In the Autodesk Viewer, a user has a lot of tools available. For Instance: turning layers and Xref’s on or off, orbiting, panning, zooming, measuring, section views, explode views and marking up the model for additional updates and modifications.
7. Additional tools a user can apply are comments, print, screenshot or share links to additional collaborators and/or stakeholders for the project.
8. When finished, save the markups and comments and go ahead and exit the browser.
9. The Shared Views Palette can be accessed anytime in AutoCAD. A user can can come back to the shared view drawing by selecting the view in the palette. They can be sorted by date, title and expiration date. The expiration date can be extended. The Shared View can also be deleted.